and civil rights, administration of justice, and generally all matters of a local nature in the Territory. The seat of local government is at Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

Dawson		Whitehorse East	
Car	macks	A. R. HAVES	

TERRITORIAL OFFICIALS

Commissioner (Whitehorse)	W. G. Brown
Superintendent of Works and Buildings	H. TAIT
Registrar of Vital Statistics	W. D. ROBERTSON
Legal Adviser	F. G. SMITH

The Director of the Northern Administration and Lands Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, is directly responsible for the general administration of the Territory under the Yukon Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 298), and that Department has three lands and mining officials stationed in the Territory. Other Departments of the Federal Government, including Justice, National Revenue, Transport, Post Office, etc., also maintain officials in the Yukon Territory.*

Northwest Territories.—The Northwest Territories as reconstituted on Sept. 1, 1905, comprise:—

- (1) all that part of Canada north of the Sixtieth Parallel of North Latitude, except the portions thereof within the Yukon Territory and the Provinces of Quebec and Newfoundland, and
- (2) the islands in Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, except those islands within the Provinces of Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

For administrative purposes, the Territories were divided into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin by Order in Council of Mar. 16, 1918. The Northwest Territories Act, 1905, as amended, provides for the Government of the Territories by a Commissioner (who is Deputy Minister of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources) under instructions given from time to time by the Governor in Council or the Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources. Provision is made in the Northwest Territories Act (S.C. 1953-54, c. 8) for a Council of nine members, four of whom shall be elected in the Mackenzie River district and five appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council has power to make ordinances for the Government of the Territories relating to subjects designated by the Governor in Council, subject to any Act of the Parliament of Canada applying to the Territories, respecting such matters as direct taxation within the Territories to raise revenue, establishment and tenure of territorial offices, maintenance of municipal institutions, licences, administration of civil justice, education, public health and generally all matters of a local nature. The administration of the Territories under the Northwest Territories Act and the ordinances passed by the Commissioner in Council is carried on by the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and

^{*} Further information on officials of various Federal Government Departments serving the Yukon Territory may be obtained from the Director, Northern Administration and Lands Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Ottawa.